Downtown Rotary Club Celebrates Anniversary!

Congratulations to the Rotary Club of Columbia on marking their 90th Anniversary!

The club we commonly refer to as the Downtown Rotary Club was founded in 1922 and will celebrate this historic anniversary on April 26 during their meeting at Columbia College. The meeting will be held at 12:00 noon at Columbia College, and the featured speaker will be District 6080 Governor Dr. Rita Esterly. Club President Brenda Woods will oversee the meeting which will include highlights of their 90 years of Rotary service.

The membership roster of the Downtown Rotary Club has included some individuals whose names are quite prominent in the community. In fact, there are at least ten streets and/or buildings in the City of Columbia bearing the names of charter members of this club. In addition, the Downtown Rotary Club was the home of 1934-35 Rotary International President Robert E. Lee Hill. In addition to Hill, Frank Rollins, Lewis Shelburn, John Rufi, Patterson Bain, Charles Proctor, R.D. Ross and Dee Corn has served as District Governors.

Also, the Downtown Rotary Club has been active in extending Rotary through the formation of new clubs. It co-sponsored our club in 1993, and we have enjoyed an excellent relationship with their members through the years.

Metro Rotary appreciates the Downtown Rotary Club and extends best wishes for many more years of Service Above Self!

This entry was posted in Past Events. Bookmark the permalink.