Metro Celebrates 20 Years!

On June 14, Metro Rotary celebrated its 20th year of service with a reception and dinner party at the home of Metro Rotarians Audrey & Jim Spieler.


Metro recognized its five charter members still active:  Win Burggraaff, John John, Ginny Northcutt, Audrey Spieler, and Jim Stock.  Thirteen past Metro presidents were on hand, with each given the opportunity to pass the gavel forward.  John John, who served as Metro president from 1995-1996, spoke first, and then the gavel was handed on.  Each of the former presidents made mention of Metro’s most significant achievements over the past 20 years.  The gavel ended in the hands of Marcia Machens, Metro’s 21st and current presiding officer.


New officers for the coming Rotary year, which begins July 1, were introduced by outdoing president Machens. They are: Shawn Barnes, president; Gena Patton, vice president; Rose Hayden, secretary, and Don Ludwig, treasurer.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.